a beautiful woman

Your beauty should not come from outward adornment… Instead it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight. For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to make themselves beautiful. 1 Peter 3: 3 & 4

We spent a week with family down south. Adam’s family flew out from Chicago to spend time with Timmy on his first birthday. Timmy was in the hospital our entire stay but left Loma Linda Children’s Hospital the Friday we left. Visiting Timmy in the hospital made the reality of his illness true to me for the first time. I wanted to weep the moment I saw him but I fought back the tears as I did several times during our stay. We visited Timmy in the hospital everyday, even though we couldn’t stay long due to our mischievous Ollie in tow.

Each time I left the hospital room I was so blown away by Lara’s (Timmy’s Mamma) attitude and gracious spirit. Lara exudes Christ’s love and I think I even saw some of this love coming out of her pores. Lara is one of the most beautiful women that I know because her hope is in God. I have been encouraged by her strength and I can’t help but want to know God more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

