bargain bin

Recently, I have been told by a handful of people that I am a good writer. I’m pretty sure I was blushing when I received the compliments. It was a great encouragement to hear that what comes from my noggin and through my fingers as they click on the computer keys makes sense to somebody. And with the encouragement I was thinking, “Maybe I should write a book someday.” Ingrid told me to title the book Random Musing by Aunt Bee. I don’t know if anyone would buy it, though.

Then today I saw something very depressing. I was at Barnes and Noble and one of the first things I walked by was the bargain bin. With tons of novels 50 to 70 percent off. I guess I could have thought, “Sweet now I can actually afford to buy a frickin’ book.” Books these days along with everything else are so expensive. That’s not what I was thinking though. I was thinking, “Crap! That stinks!” somebody poured their heart and soul onto those pages, spending hours writing, reading and editing their work. I imagine the author walking by, picking up their book, grasping it to their chest and with a deep sigh, tears rolling down their cheeks until they soaked the pages of their literary baby, slapped with a red sticker: $2.99!

Maybe I won’t be writing a book just yet…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

