in the little things

For the past two months Oliver has been teething. He also just got over a cold. So Oliver hasn’t been sleeping very much. Neither have his parents. Oliver wakes up multiple times during the night. So do his parents. Adam works at six in the morning. He rides his bike to work. A twenty mile bike ride. Adam wakes up at 3:17 am. We have been a very tired family.

Last night before I went to bed I prayed. My prayers usually go something like this, “Please! Please! Please! Please! Please! Please! Let Oliver sleep through the night. Like 8pm to 8am.” But last night my prayer was a little different. I prayed, “Lord please allow Adam to have an uninterrupted sleep. Let Oliver stay asleep until Adam has to wake up.”

Last night Oliver did wake up in the middle of the night at 3:11 am.

And I thanked God for hearing my prayer and answering it. Thanked him for allowing me to see an answered prayer. I feel like it was just what I needed to be reminded that he also hears my “big” prayer request, it’s just not time for him to answer them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

